These travelers coming to Connecticut from South Carolina are being asked to voluntarily enter a two week quarantine upon entering the state. Connecticut added eight states Tuesday to its travel advisory suggesting that travelers quarantine for two weeks after coming here.
Meanwhile, as the state reported just over 150 new cases of COVID-19 Tuesday, the nation’s top infectious disease doctor warned the U.S. could experience 100,000 new cases a day.
Gov. Ned Lamont added California, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada and Tennessee to the list of states that fall under the tri-state travel advisory with New York and New Jersey. The governors of the three northeast states said last week that people coming from Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas, and Utah are urged to self-quarantine for 14 days upon arrival in the region.
Travelers from the 16 states impacted by the advisory can also get tested for COVID-19 within 72 hours of arrival in Connecticut. If the test is negative, the quarantine will be lifted, the governor said.
In Connecticut, there won’t be any fines or penalties if travelers don’t comply. New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo has said there may be fines in his state for violators, suggesting $2,000 for the first offense and up to $10,000 for repeat offenses .
Massachusetts Gov. Charlie Baker said Tuesday that travelers from Connecticut, Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, New York and New Jersey would not have to quarantine if coming to his state. Massachusetts has had a recommended 14-day quarantine in place since March 27. Teresa Webb, of Stratford, gets swabbed for COVID-19 Tuesday by nurse Julyssa Colon at a […]